APSE Scotland Transport and Mechanical advisory group

23 January 2019

Minutes from this meeting

1. Introduction and welcome

The group's Secretary Emil Laiolo and Chair Cllr Paul O'Kane welcomed all to the latest meeting of the transport and mechanical advisory group and thanked West Lothian Council for once again kindly hosting the meeting within their New Service Centre in Bathgate.

2. Attendance and apologies

See attached.

3. Minutes of the previous meeting held on 10th October 2018

The minutes were deemed to be a true and accurate record of the meeting.

4. Matters arising

There were no matters arising

5. Discussions

The meeting featured a range of discussions on topics such as:

- New Lanarkshire College available Training Courses
- Fit to drive
- Procurement
- HVO alternative fuels including presentation from Crown Oil UK
- Housing/ building fleets sizes/ shapes and types of vehicles used
- Social/ Educational internal transport drivers working hours/ contracts
- IRTEC training for technicians
- Speakers/ topics for Aviemore 2019
- Benchmarking with Performance Networks

A number of actions were noted by Louise in terms of documents/ information to be circulated regarding the training discussion and the "Flexible workforce delivery fund" etc with those attending. It also included information on an invitation for the group to attend the Counting House on Saturday 2nd February to catch up with Gerry Farrell (previously with North Lanarkshire Council). These were sent via email post meeting to all.

6. APSE update

Louise Melville provided an update on the recent work of APSE, including the latest briefings and upcoming publications, advocacy of the Scottish and National offices and provided dates of upcoming seminars and training events.

7. AOCB

There was no other competent business.

8. Future agenda items for the next meeting

It was noted that procurement and fit to drive would remain as standing items.

9. Date of the next meeting

The next meeting of the group will be the 20th March 2019 and will hopefully be held at the New Lanarkshire College Motherwell Campus.

10. Lunch

11. Tour

Attendee List

Name	Council
William Whyte	Aberdeen City Council
John Weir	Aberdeen City Council
Gordon Ross	Aberdeenshire Council
Louise Melville	APSE
Pat Traynor	City of Edinburgh Council
Kevin O'Mara	Dumfries & Galloway Council
lain Haining	Dumfries & Galloway Council
Manny Barlow	East Dunbartonshire Council
Paul Curran	East Dunbartonshire Council
Colin Squance	East Lothian Council
Bruce Moffat	East Lothian Council
Cllr Paul O'Kane	East Renfrewshire Council
John McElhinney	East Renfrewshire Council
Pat Taggart	Falkirk Council
Tom Henderson	Fife Council

Billy Ferguson	Fife Council
Emil Laiolo	Glasgow City Council
James MacDonald	Highland Council
Dave Knapman	IQSS
Leslie Thomson	Moray Council
John Taylor	New Lanarkshire College
Andrew Fretwell	New Lanarkshire College
Barry Skea	New Lanarkshire Council
Nicola Simpson	Perth & Kinross Council
Allison Brown	Perth & Kinross Council
Andy Greig	Renfrewshire Council
Grant Montomery	Scotland Excel
Rebecca Green	Scotland Excel
Cllr John Anderson	South Lanarkshire Council
Scott Blyth	West Lothian Council

Apologies

Paul Gray	Aberdeenshire Council
John Mundell	APSE Associate
John Jamieson	East Dunbartonshire Council
Juliet Hall	Fife Council
Bob Ritchie	Tayside Contracts