Association for Public Service Excellence
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • apse Blog
Who we are
What we do

Chairs and secretaries

Every year the region appoints a chair, secretary and vice chair to represent the Wale region at APSE’s National Council.

APSE Welsh Regional Representatives for 2019/20


Chair - Cllr Arwyn Woolcock, Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council

Deputy Chair– Cllr Andrew Dunbobbin, Flintshire County Council

Secretary – Karen Armstrong, Corporate Business & Communications Executive Officer, Flintshire County Council

National Council RepresentativeMatt Wakelam, Assistant Director - Street Scene, Cardiff City Council


Chairs of Advisory Groups:


APSE Wales - Renewables & Climate Change

Chair:  Cllr David A Bithell (Wrexham County Borough Council)

Secretary: Claire Parry (Wrexham County Borough Council)


APSE Wales - FM, Catering & Cleaning

Chair:  Cllr Phyl Davies (Powys County Council)

Secretary: Ian Hammond (Powys County Council)


APSE Wales - Housing & Building Maintenance

Chair:  Cllr Andrew Dunbobbin ( Flintshire County Council)

Secretary: Sean O'Donnell ( Flintshire County Council)


APSE Wales – Environment Services & Highways

Chair:  Cllr Clive Lloyd ( Swansea County Council)

Secretary: Matt Wakelam (Cardiff City & County Council)


Promoting excellence in public services

APSE (Association for Public Service Excellence) is a not for profit unincorporated association working with over 300 councils throughout the UK. Promoting excellence in public services, APSE is the foremost specialist in local authority frontline services, hosting a network for frontline service providers in areas such as waste and refuse collection, parks and environmental services, cemeteries and crematorium, environmental health, leisure, school meals, cleaning, housing and building maintenance.






  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • apse Blog